About

South Staffordshire & District Beekeepers Association has been in operation for over a hundred years. It first met officially under the name of Staffordshire County Beekeepers’ Association at the Swan Hotel, Stafford on the 28th April 1883. It’s objectives were to encourage and advance beekeeping amongst the residents of the County.

In 1913 the South Staffordshire & District Association was formed for members residing in the south of the district.

The Association now has two teaching apiaries. One at National Trust Shugborough Estate and another at Hilton Green, Forest of Mercia and hosts a number of Beekeeper Experience Days and training programmes for both new beginner beekeepers and existing members to further develop their knowledge and experience.

We now have around 150 or so members who come from Stafford, Cannock, Wolverhampton and a wide circle outside that triangle. Our Apiary is maintained in Shugborough Hall grounds where we have 15 hives, storage sheds and a marquee for small meetings. We hold the beginner meetings and apiary meetings here in the summer months.

The Association is also registered with the National Bee Unit on BeeBase and registered under Charity Number: 519681


A Brief History Of The Association

  • 1883 – First Meeting of Staffordshire County Beekeepers’ Association at the Swan Hotel, Stafford. Although there had been bee keepers’ meetings and shows before this date.

  • 1940 – There were over 700 members and they were centred on branches in Wolverhampton, Cannock and Stafford.

  • 1942 – The insurance scheme of the British Bee Keepers’ Association was joined.

  • 1946 – saw increased capitation fees from BBKA and the members in the North formed their own association (North Staffordshire BKA).

  • 1962 – The County Beekeepers’ Association amalgamated with South Staffordshire & District Bee Keepers’ Association.